Indian Railways lifts 39th Surjit Hockey Trophy: The Tribune India | So Good News


Tribune news service

Jalandhar, November 4

Indian Railways beat Indian Oil Mumbai 3-1 to clinch the title of the 39th Indian Oil Servo Surjit Hockey Tournament at the Olympian Surjit Hockey Stadium here today.

The winners received Rs 5 lakh in cash and the Winners’ Trophy, and the runners-up received Rs 2.51 lakh in cash and a trophy. Gursahib Singh of the Indian Railways team was declared the best player of the tournament and awarded Rs 51,000 in cash. This is the third time the Indian Railways team has won this title. Sahil from the Indian Oil team was declared the promising player of the tournament and he was awarded Rs 31000 cash.

The cash prize of Rs 5 lakh for the winning team was sponsored by Amolak Singh Gakhal (USA), while the cash prize of Rs 2.5 lakh for the runner-up was sponsored by Sukhwinder Singh Saini (Germany). The ‘Best Player Award’ of Rs 51,000 was sponsored by Ranbir Singh Rana Tutt.

The finals were played at a very fast pace. In the 17th minute of the match, Indian Railways took the lead when their Yuvraj Valmiki scored a field goal from the right flank (1-0). Indian Oil squandered two opportunities to equalize in the first two quarters. At the break, Indian Railways led 1-0. After switching finishes, Indian Oil increased the pressure and won a penalty corner.

The equalizer came from the stick of Sumit Kumar, who put the ball in the net from the pass of Olympian VR Raghunath (1-1). In the 51st minute of the game, Indian Railways once again took the lead when player Sheshe Gowda BM scored the goal (2-1). In the 59th minute of the game, Gursahib Singh completed the tally by scoring a field goal (3-1).

#hockey #Mumbai


Source link