SA’s best science thinkers were honored at last night’s Science Excellence and Innovation Awards • Glam Adelaide | So Good News


South Australia’s leading science, technology, engineering, mathematics and medicine (STEMM) professionals were recognized last night. SA Science Excellence and Innovation Awards.

Held at SA Film Corporation’s Glenside Studios, the awards recognize South Australians who excel in STEMM, while highlighting the importance of science, research and innovation.

The prestigious Scientist of the Year award went to SAHMR Professor Maria Makrides, who leads a team working to improve the lives of pregnant women and young children through nutrition.

2022 Top Scientist Professor Maria Makrides explained her role at SAHMRI: “My team works to improve outcomes of nutritional interventions for pregnant women and young children.

“I got my science degree and was looking for something more applied. I looked into nutrition and dietetics, a way to combine good physiological and biochemical science with real-life applications.

“My interest in infant care was to focus on nutrition for optimal growth and development, not just care. In the first four months of a baby’s life, its weight doubles. In adult terms, it’s a little simpler. We don’t double our weight in four months, we’d be in a lot of trouble if we did!

“A lot of mothers can be malnourished because we have a huge food supply in Australia. Often our problem is one of nutrient overload or nutrient imbalance.

“I want people to pay more attention to the quality, balance of nutrition and to avoid certain fad diets that tend to cut out certain food groups – which can sometimes have unintended consequences.”

The awards bring together and celebrate the achievements of leaders and teams working in research and education institutions, schools, industry and society.

They are an important event in South Australia’s scientific calendar and are recognized as the state’s premier science event, showcasing the diversity of scientific endeavors and research in South Australia.

Sponsored by Novatech Creative Event Technology, Commonwealth Bank and Telstra, the awards dinner was attended by around 400 guests.

The 2022 SA Excellence in Science and Innovation Award winners:

  • Scientist of the Year: Professor Maria MakridesSAHMRI
  • Innovator of the Year: Professor Andre LuitenInstitute of Photonics and Advanced Sensing, University of Adelaide
  • PhD Research Excellence Award: Dr. Chelsea ThorneUniversity of South Australia
  • STEMM Teacher of the Year – Elementary/Secondary: Team SPARKTrinity College
  • STEMM Teacher of the Year – University/RTO: Dr. Richard LilleyUniversity of Adelaide
  • Excellence in science and industry cooperation: Australia’s Blue Bioeconomy, Center for Marine Bioproducts DevelopmentFlinders University

South Australia’s Chief Scientist Professor Caroline McMillen congratulated the winners, saying, “I’m proud to say that this year’s SA Science Excellence and Innovation Award winners are as diverse as the STEMM workforce. I congratulate you all.

“This cohort is developing solutions to the world’s most pressing problems and inspiring the next generation of South Australians to embark on STEMM careers and change the world!

“The stories of the winners give us hope for the future – we are fortunate to have such outstanding researchers, innovators, partners and educators in our state who are achieving great results every day.”

Susan Close, Deputy Premier and Minister for Industry, Innovation and Science, attended the awards ceremony and said at the evening, “I am delighted to introduce the winners of the 2022 SA Science Excellence and Innovation Awards – a group of passionate STEMM champions who are making a significant positive impact. to their sectors and communities.

“Each year, I look to this cohort to learn about South Australia’s STEMM strengths and where our industries are headed.

“Our future looks bright with winners representing the cutting edge fields of health, education, geology, as well as quantum physics and marine bioproducts!

To learn more about each winner’s outstanding work, visit here

[adrotate banner=”159″]


Source link