Sheth Prajwal bags Dasaprakash Cup State Chess Championship | So Good News


Karnataka State Chess Championship 2022 is organized by Mysore Chess Center under the auspices of Karnataka State Chess Association. The top four players from this championship will represent Karnataka in the MPL 59th National Chess Championship to be held in Delhi in 2022.

The prestigious event was attended by Bhamys Constructions Managing Director Dr. Raghavendra Prasad at Paradise Hotel in the city along with CK Muralidhar of Mysore District Chess Association, International Master (IM) Ravi Hegde, Vishavatat Das, Dasaprakash Managing Director. Group of Hotels, Dr. Chandra, President, UNB, Nagendra Muralidhar, Director, Mysore Chess Centre, V. Raghavendra, Vice President, KSCA.

155 players from different regions of the country took part in the four-day championship. Among them, 100 players were rated by FIDE. The tournament was held according to the Swiss league system and consisted of eight rounds.

Former Bengaluru state champion N. Sanjay topped the list with an ELO rating of 2295, followed by Belagavi’s FM Niranjan Navlgund (2246).

At the end of the 8th round, P. Sheth Prajwal of JSS Medical College, Mysuru and N. Sanjay (Income Tax) of Bengaluru scored 7 points and Sheth Prajwal, who had the better of the tie-break, won the Karnataka State Chess Dasaprakash Trophy. 2022. The prize fund totaled Rs. 3,00,000, to be distributed among the top 30 prize winners. All prize winners and U-7, U-9, U-11 and U-13 players received an attractive trophy. Sheth Prajwal, N. Sanjay, Likit Chilkuri and Vivek Nambiar qualified for the upcoming nationals.

Jaganath, Founder of Mysore District Chess Association, Veteran Sportsman Vijaya Ramesh, Indira Ballal, Ex-President of Rotary East, Vishwanath Das, Managing Director of Dasaprakash Group of Hotels, National Player, International Master Vivek Nambiar (IM) distributed the awards. ) Ravi Hedge and Nagendra Murlidhar, Director, Chess Center, Mysore.

Deputy Chief Arbiter R. Karthik and Asst. Umpire SNA KN Sanjana worked efficiently to conduct the Tournament without any appeal.


Source link